Best free time tracking app for iPhone, Android, Mac and Windows in 2026

The best free time tracking app depends on which device you will actually press start on. On a phone, Clockify and Toggl Track are the safest picks because both have native iPhone and Android apps with genuinely unlimited tracking, though Toggl's free plan now stops at 3 users on new workspaces and Clockify's at 5. On a Mac or Windows PC, the same two plus TimeCamp and Harvest give you a real desktop app. If the point of tracking is to invoice a client, Timen is the only free option here with no user cap and invoicing built in, and it has iPhone, Android and Mac apps plus a Chrome extension, with no Windows app yet. None of the eight apps below needs a credit card where the vendor says either way, and none is a trial with a hidden clock. Prices and limits were checked September 2026.

Free time tracking apps compared by platform: iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and browser

What people mean when they search for a free time tracking app

Usually a device. Type the phrase into a search box and the suggestions that follow are "for iPhone", "for Android", "for Mac", "for Windows", and then a job: "for freelancers", "for small business", "for students". Nobody searching this way wants a feature matrix. They want to know whether the thing will install on what they own and whether it will still be free once they use it properly.

That is a different question from which free time tracking software is best, which is about plans and paywalls rather than platforms. The two overlap, and if you want the plan-by-plan view of which free plans still hold up that page goes deeper on billing. Here the order is reversed: platform first, then use case, and the free plan limits only where they change the answer.

One thing to know before the tables. A native app and a free plan are independent. Several vendors ship excellent apps on every platform and then cap the free plan at a handful of users, while the most generous free plans sometimes come from tools with the thinnest app coverage. Both columns matter, and they rarely line up.

Which free time tracking apps have a native app on each platform?

Platform coverage below comes from each vendor's own download or apps page and the App Store and Google Play listings, checked September 2026. "Extension" means a browser extension that starts a timer inside other web apps.

App Phone apps Desktop apps Extension Card needed
Clockify iPhone, Android Mac, Windows, Linux Chrome, Firefox, Edge No
Toggl Track iPhone, Android Mac, Windows Chrome, Firefox, Edge No
Timen iPhone, Android Mac Chrome, Edge No
Jibble iPhone, Android Mac, Windows Chrome Not stated
Harvest iPhone, Android Mac, Windows None listed No
TimeCamp iPhone, Android Mac, Windows, Linux Chrome, Edge Not stated
My Hours iPhone, Android Web only None listed No
clockodo iPhone, Android Mac, Windows None listed No

Three rows deserve a note. Toggl Track's iPhone app comes with an Apple Watch app, and its Linux desktop app has been discontinued: the Flathub listing now says the application is no longer available, so Linux users are on the web app or an extension. Timen's iPhone and Android apps are both live even though its own integrations page still lists mobile as coming soon; both work offline and sync when they reconnect.

Where each free plan stops

Limits below are from each vendor's help centre or pricing page, checked September 2026. "Billing" means whether a free account can put a rate on an hour and send an invoice.

App Free users Projects Reports and history Billing on free
Clockify 5 active, including the owner Unlimited, all public 31 days per report, PDF export only No rates, no invoicing
Toggl Track 3 on new workspaces, 5 on older ones Unlimited Full history, PDF export only No rates, no invoicing
Timen Unlimited Unlimited Full history, all reports and exports Rates and invoicing included
Jibble Unlimited Attendance, not project based Exportable timesheets Never invoices
Harvest 1 2 active Full reports Invoicing included, no logo or attachments
TimeCamp Unlimited Unlimited, but no tasks under them 10+ reports, PDF export only Not on the free plan
My Hours 5 active Unlimited, with tasks and clients Dashboard and detailed report, PDF download No invoicing
clockodo 1 Unlimited PDF and CSV carry the clockodo logo Billable hours included

Which free time tracking app is best on each platform?

The short version: on a phone the field is wide and the free plan decides; on a desktop it narrows to the tools that bothered to build one; in a browser it comes down to who has an extension. The picks below assume you want the most useful free plan on that device, not the most features overall.

Best free time tracking app for iPhone

Toggl Track, if you are solo or a team of three or fewer, because the iPhone app is paired with an Apple Watch app and the free plan has no cap on entries, projects or clients. Clockify is the pick for a team of four or five, since its free plan holds 5 active users where Toggl's now holds 3 on a new workspace. Toggl's own product pages say "free for up to 3 users" while its pricing page only says "a limited number", and users on its community forum report older accounts still on 5, checked September 2026.

Harvest's iPhone app is very good and its free plan includes invoicing, but at one seat and two active projects it is really a personal tool. My Hours is the quieter option: iPhone and Android apps, 5 active users, unlimited projects and clients, and no invoicing on free. Timen has an iPhone app as well, on the same free plan as the web app with no user cap and invoicing included, and it keeps tracking offline and syncs when you are back online, which makes it the pick if you invoice clients and want the timer on your phone.

Toggl Track timer and time entries, the same layout as its iPhone and Mac apps
Toggl Track's free plan has no cap on entries, projects or clients, but new workspaces get 3 free users and reports export as PDF only.

Best free time tracking app for Android

Clockify and Toggl Track for the same reasons as on iPhone, with the same 5 versus 3 user split. Timen's Android app went live on Google Play in 2026. It tracks by project and client, lets you start a timer or add hours afterwards, tags entries and marks them billable, works fully offline and syncs when it reconnects. There is no user cap and no paid tier, so the choice between it and Clockify on Android is really about whether you need invoicing, which Timen has and Clockify's free plan does not.

Jibble belongs on this list for a different job. Its Android app is a clock-in app with GPS and face recognition, free for unlimited people, and it is what you want if staff are clocking in from a phone rather than logging project hours. TimeCamp's Android app sits with an unlimited-user free plan too, though the free plan cannot create tasks under a project, which makes it flatter than it looks.

Best free time tracking app for Mac

Toggl Track. The native Mac app stores entries locally, keeps working offline and syncs when you are back, and it includes the autotracker and idle detection on the free plan. Clockify's Mac app is the alternative if you need 5 users rather than 3. Both give you a timer that lives outside the browser, which is the whole reason to want a desktop app in the first place.

Harvest, TimeCamp, Jibble and clockodo all have Mac apps as well, but each comes with a narrower free plan: one seat, no tasks, attendance only, and one user respectively. My Hours has no Mac app. Timen does, alongside the web app and a Chrome extension that starts timers inside tools like Asana, Trello, Basecamp and GitHub, so on a Mac the timer can live outside the browser and the extension covers the web tools.

Clockify timesheet view, available in its Mac, Windows and Linux desktop apps
Clockify's desktop apps cover Mac, Windows and Linux. The free plan holds 5 active users and shows 31 days per report.

Best free time tracking app for Windows

The same two lead, and Windows adds Linux to the question for developers. Clockify has native apps for Windows and Linux. Toggl Track has a Windows app but its Linux build is discontinued. TimeCamp ships Windows and Linux desktop apps and an unlimited-user free plan, which makes it a genuine option for a Windows office that tracks time without tasks or billing.

Jibble's Windows app comes from the Microsoft Store and is, again, a clock-in tool. Harvest and clockodo both have Windows apps with one-person free plans. Timen and My Hours are web apps on Windows, and Timen's Chrome extension works in Edge as well as Chrome, since Edge is a Chromium browser.

Best free time tracking app in a browser

If you mostly work inside web tools, the browser extension matters more than the desktop app, because it puts a start button on the task you are looking at. Clockify and Toggl Track both cover Chrome, Firefox and Edge. TimeCamp covers Chrome and Edge. Jibble has a Chrome extension. Timen's extension is on the Chrome Web Store and works in Chromium browsers including Edge, with no Firefox or Safari build yet. Harvest, My Hours and clockodo list no extension on their apps pages.

For a web-only tool, the free plan is the whole product, so this is where Timen's position is clearest. Everything the web app does is free with no user cap: timer, calendar, reports, exports, projects, clients, invoices. What it lacks is a Windows app, and the oversight features a manager might expect, such as timesheet approvals and audit logs. My Hours is the other web-first tool here, with a cleaner free plan than most at 5 users but no invoicing.

Timen web app with the timer, projects and reports, free with no user cap
Timen is a web app first. The whole product is free with no user cap, and it has iPhone, Android and Mac apps plus a Chrome extension, but no Windows app yet.

Which free app fits the job you are doing?

Platform narrows the list; the work you track decides it. Three use cases cover most searches.

For freelancers

The question for a freelancer is not which app tracks best but which free plan lets hours become an invoice, because that is the feature almost every free tier removes. Only three here keep it. Harvest's free plan includes invoicing and expenses for one seat and two active projects, which is enough for a freelancer with two clients and no more; it will not let you add a logo or attach files to the invoice. clockodo's single-user free plan includes billable hours and project tracking, and its PDF and CSV reports carry the clockodo logo. Timen includes rates and invoicing with no cap on clients or projects, and no paid tier exists to grow into.

Toggl Track and Clockify are still fine for a freelancer on fixed-fee work who wants to know where the week went. They just cannot bill. Toggl's Starter plan is 9 dollars per user per month on annual billing or 12 monthly; Clockify's Basic is 3.99 annual or 4.99 monthly, and invoicing there needs Standard at 5.49 annual. Harvest's Teams plan is listed at 9 dollars per seat per month, and its Flex billing adds usage charges above the base rate. All checked September 2026, and the renewal and usage charges are laid out in more detail elsewhere.

For small businesses and employees

Count heads first. A team of up to five can run on Clockify or My Hours for nothing; a team of three or fewer can add Toggl Track to that list. Beyond five, the free options are TimeCamp, Jibble and Timen, and they are three different products. TimeCamp is a conventional project time tracker with unlimited users but no tasks under projects and no billing on free. Jibble is an attendance system with unlimited users, GPS and face recognition, and it does not invoice at any tier. Timen is a project and client tracker with unlimited users and invoicing, but no approvals and no audit log.

The upgrade price matters more than the free plan if the team is growing. Clockify's paid tiers are the cheapest per seat of the mainstream tools, and a six-person team moving off its free plan pays about 24 dollars a month on Basic annual billing. The same team on Toggl Starter pays 54. If you expect to cross the cap within a year, the free plan is a starting point rather than the decision, and Clockify's 2026 free plan changes are worth reading before assuming the older, larger free plan still applies.

For students and personal use

Any of the phone-first apps work, and the user caps are irrelevant to one person. Toggl Track is the most pleasant for personal tracking: the free plan includes a Pomodoro timer, idle detection and the autotracker, and the Apple Watch app is a small luxury. Clockify is close behind and a little more spreadsheet-like. My Hours is simpler again, with a clean daily and weekly view on mobile. The thing to check is history and export: Clockify's free reports show 31 days at a time, and both it and Toggl export as PDF only, so a student wanting a semester's data in a spreadsheet will hit that wall.

Nothing here is a focus or screen-time tool. If what you want is to know where the hours went without pressing a button, that is a different category, and the automatic trackers are covered in the RescueTime alternatives comparison.

So which one should you install?

  • iPhone, solo or up to 3 people: Toggl Track.
  • iPhone or Android, 4 or 5 people: Clockify.
  • iPhone or Android and you invoice clients: Timen.
  • Mac or Windows menu bar timer: Toggl Track, or Clockify for the larger free team.
  • Windows or Linux office, more than 5 people, no billing: TimeCamp.
  • Staff clocking in from phones: Jibble.
  • One person with two clients who needs invoices: Harvest free, or clockodo if you are in Europe and want CSV out.
  • Web tools all day, any team size, invoices at the end: Timen, which also has iPhone, Android and Mac apps.

If two of those describe you, take the one that names your billing situation, because that is the limit you will hit first and the one that costs money to fix.

Questions people ask before installing one

Which free time tracking app works on both iPhone and Android?
All eight. Clockify, Toggl Track, Jibble, Harvest, TimeCamp, My Hours, clockodo and Timen all have native apps in both the App Store and Google Play, and Timen's run on the same no-cap free plan as its web app.
Which free time tracking app has a Mac desktop app?
Clockify, Toggl Track, Harvest, TimeCamp, Jibble, clockodo and Timen all ship a native Mac app. My Hours does not and runs as a web app on a Mac. Timen also adds a Chrome extension for starting timers from other tools.
Do free time tracking apps work offline?
The ones with native apps generally do, though it is worth checking the specific app. Toggl Track's desktop apps store entries locally and sync when you reconnect, and Timen's iPhone and Android apps both work offline and sync when they are back online. A web-only tool needs a connection.
Do you need a credit card for a free time tracking app?
Not for most of them. Toggl Track, Harvest, My Hours, clockodo and Timen all state on their pricing or support pages that no card is needed, and Clockify's trial and free plan ask for none. Jibble and TimeCamp do not say either way in the documentation checked.
Does Timen have an iPhone app?
Yes. Timen has an iPhone app and an Android app on Google Play, plus a Mac app, a Chrome extension and the web app, all on the same free plan with no user cap. There is no Windows app yet.

The short version

Free time tracking apps are plentiful on phones and desktops, and the app coverage is rarely the problem. The free plan is. Toggl Track and Clockify have the best apps on every platform and cap free at 3 and 5 users with no billing. TimeCamp and Jibble have no user cap and no billing. Harvest and clockodo bill from a one-person free plan. Timen bills with no cap and covers iPhone, Android and Mac, with no Windows app.

Pick the device you will actually press start on, check the user cap against the people who need to see reports rather than just the ones tracking, and then ask whether an hour ever needs to become an invoice. Those three questions leave you with one or two apps, and either will be fine.

Timen is free for the whole product, on the web, in Chrome, and on iPhone, Android and Mac, if invoicing is the part you were going to pay for.